Undergraduate Catalog 2018-2019

Teacher Education Department

Chair: Desha L. Williams

Professors:  Cynthia Alby, Rui Kang, Nancy Mizelle, Lyndall Muschell, Stacy Schwartz
Associate Professors: Nicole DeClouette, Olha Osobov, Joanne Previts, Betta Vice, Stephen Wills 

Assistant Professors: Roddran Grimes, Robert Sumowski

Instructors/Lecturers: James Ammons, Estelle Jacobs, Justina Jenkins, Miriam Jordan, Donna McNair

Director of Partnerships and Placements: Claire Garrett

Director of Call Me MISTER: Emmanuel Little

COE Pre-Education Advisor: Nikki Simpson

Certification Officer: David Ladd

Department Contact Information:

Georgia College

228 Kilpatrick Education Center
Campus Box 71

Milledgeville, GA 31061

Administrative Assistant Ms. Bessie Storey
Department website: http://gcsu.edu/education/teached


The cohorted undergraduate programs at Georgia College have commendable reputations within and outside of the state of Georgia such as the Regents’ Teaching Excellence Award and the Christa McAuliffe Excellence in Teacher Education Award. The Educator Preparation programs also take pride in the coveted Wisniewski Award from the Society of Professors of Education. This award recognizes an institution that has made "singularly significant contributions to the theory and practice of teacher education." In 2016, Teacher.Org recognized the Early Childhood program as #4 and the Special Education program as #19 in the nation.  All programs follow the Architects of Change Conceptual Framework.

The undergraduate programs are offered in cohort models only. Cohorts begin the fall of the junior year and continue through the senior year. Admission to the cohorts is competitive and applications are due the third Friday in January prior to the beginning of the next fall semester.


The John H. Lounsbury College of Education is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).


The Early Childhood Program is recognized by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (Ga PSC).


The Middle Grades Program is recognized by the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) and is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC).  


The Special Education Program is recognized by the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) and is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC).