Undergraduate Catalog 2016-2017

Teacher Education Department

Chair: Holley Roberts

Professors:  Cynthia Alby, Rebecca McMullen, Nancy Mizelle, Lyndall Muschell, Stacy Schwartz
Associate Professors: Nicole DeClouette, Rui Kang, Joanne Previts, Stephen Stewart, Stephen Wills 

Assistant Professors: Betta Vice, Roddran Grimes, Robert Sumowski, Olha Tsarykovska

Instructors/Lecturers: Kristina Falbe, Estelle Jacobs, Miriam Jordan, Donna McNair

Director of Partnerships and Placements: Claire Garrett

Pre-education Placement Coordinator: Revel Pouge

Director of Call Me MISTER: Emmanuel Little

Department Contact Information:

Georgia College

101C Kilpatrick Education Center
Campus Box 7

Milledgeville, GA 31061

Administrative Assistant Ms. Bessie Storey
Department website: http://gcsu.edu/education/teached


The cohorted undergraduate and graduate programs at Georgia College have commendable reputations within and outside of the state of Georgia such as the Regents’ Teaching Excellence Award and the Christa McAuliffe Excellence in Teacher Education Award. The Educator Preparation programs also take pride in the coveted Wisniewski Award from the Society of Professors of Education. This award recognizes an institution that has made "singularly significant contributions to the theory and practice of teacher education." All programs follow the Architects of Change Conceptual Framework.

The undergraduate programs are offered in cohort models only. Cohorts begin the fall of the junior year and continue through the senior year. Admission to the cohorts is competitive and applications are due the third Friday in January prior to the beginning of the next fall semester.


The John H. Lounsbury College of Education has been accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).


The Early Childhood Program is recognized by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (Ga PSC).


The Middle Grades Program is recognized by the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) and is approved by the Georgia PRofessional Standards Commission (GaPSC).  


The Special Education Program is recognized by the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) and is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC).